Höweler + Yoon

Höweler + Yoon is a design-driven architecture practice and creative studio that believes design is an instrument for imagining and implementing change – social, cultural, technological, and environmental. Over the last 18 years, we have built a reputation for work that is formally and technologically innovative, socially engaged, and conceptually rigorous.

All along, we have sought to expand the scope of design beyond disciplinary boundaries (we wrote a book called Expanded Practice), have benefited from collaborations with experts in numerous fields, and have taken a hands-on approach to design and implementation. This has allowed us to do unprecedented work in atypical fields: interactive landscapes, submersible structures, stone vaulting, and media projects (we are working on a new book called Signal / Noise).

We specialize in special projects.

Our projects ask how design fits within contemporary culture, how it can affect behavioral and social norms, and how it can produce a sense of place or create environmental awareness. Each project involves a research agenda into larger cultural trends, material properties, fabrication processes, or environmental conditions.

Our team is a dedicated group of 20+ architects, designers, and researchers. Our projects range from cultural and institutional buildings, mixed-use residential and commercial buildings, to public spaces, interactive environments, and research projects.

Höweler + Yoon Architecture has received numerous awards including the Progressive Architecture Award, the Audi Urban Futures Award, the Design Vanguard Award by Architectural Record, the Emerging Voices Award by the Architecture League, as well as several national and local AIA awards and honors.

Their work has been exhibited at the Museum of Modern Art in New York, the Los Angeles Museum of Contemporary Art, the Museum of Contemporary Art in Chicago, the Smithsonian Cooper-Hewitt National Design Museum in New York, the Vitra Design Museum in Germany, the National Art Center in Japan, and the Venice Architecture Biennale.

J. Meejin Yoon

J. Meejin Yoon AIA, is an architect, designer, and educator. She is currently Professor and Head of the Department of Architecture at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. Her design work and research investigates the intersections between architecture, technology, and public space. Yoon has been widely recognized for her innovative and interdisciplinary work. She received the New Generation Design Leadership Award by Architectural Record in 2015, the United States Artist Award in Architecture and Design in 2008, and the Rome Prize in Design in 2005. Yoon is the co-author of Public Works: Unsolicited Small Projects for the Big Dig (MAP Book Publishers 2008) and Absence (Printed Matter and the Whitney Museum of Art 2003). Yoon received a Bachelor of Architecture from Cornell University with the AIA Henry Adams Medal in 1995, a Master of Architecture in Urban Design with Distinction from Harvard University in 1997, and a Fulbright Fellowship to Korea in 1998.

Eric Höweler

Eric Höweler AIA, is an architect, designer, and educator. He is currently Associate Professor in Architecture at the Harvard Graduate School of Design. His design work and research investigates the intersections between architecture and building technologies with a focus on envelopes and material systems. Prior to forming Höweler + Yoon Architecture in 2005, Höweler was a senior designer at Diller Scofidio + Renfro in New York, and an Associate Principal at Kohn Pedersen Fox Associates. Höweler has been widely recognized for his innovative and interdisciplinary work. He is author of Skyscraper, Vertical Now (Rizzoli/Universe 2003) and co-author of 1,001 Skyscrapers (Princeton Architectural Press 2000). Höweler received a Bachelor of Architecture from Cornell University with the AIA Henry Adams Certificate in 1994, a Masters of Architecture from Cornell University in 1996.

Team

Jacob Bruce (jbruce@hyarchitecture.com)
Kyle Coburn | Associate, AIA (kcoburn@hyarchitecture.com)
Chloe Conceicao (cconceicao@hyarchitecture.com)
Jonathan Fournier | Senior Associate, AIA (jfournier@hyarchitecture.com)
Elle Gerdeman | Associate, AIA (egerdeman@gmail.com)
David Hamm (dhamm@hyarchitecture.com)
Caleb Hawkins (chawkins@hyarchitecture.com)
Eric Höweler | Principal, AIA (ehoweler@hyarchitecture.com)
Sungwoo Jang | Senior Associate (sjang@hyarchitecture.com)
Max Jarosz (mjarosz@hyarchitecture.com)
Sophie Juneau (sjuneau@hyarchitecture.com)
Namjoo Kim (njkim@hyarchitecture.com)
Neil Legband | Associate (nlegband@hyarchitecture.com )
Sarah Martos (smartos@hyarchitecture.com)
Ching Ying Ngan (cyngan@hyarchitecture.com)
Nancy Nichols (nnichols@hyarchitecture.com)
Alexander Porter (aporter@hyarchitecture.com)
Hari Priya Rangarajan | Associate (hrangarajan@hyarchitecture.com)
Gillian Shaffer (gshaffer@hyarchitecture.com)
Di Wang (dwang@hyarchitecture.com)
Meejin Yoon | Principal, AIA (myoon@hyarchitecture.com)

Awards
Winner, Small Project Award. AIA. Feb. 2018.
Progressive Architecture Awards Honorable Mention, FloatLab. Architect Magazine. Dec. 2017.
Finalist, Harleston Parker Medal, Collier Memorial. BSA. Aug. 2017.
WAN Award/Future Projects Education Award, Circus Conservatory of America. World Architecture News. Sep. 2016.
Future Projects Education Award. WAN Awards. Sep. 2016.
AAP American Architecture Prize, Collier Memorial + Shadow Play. AAP. Jun. 2016.
BSA Honor Award, Shadow Play. Boston Society of Architects. Jun. 2016.
Boston Society of Architects Women in Design Award. Boston Society of Architects. May. 2016.
New Generation Design Leadership Award. Architectural Review. Jan. 2015.
Winner, Honor Awards for Architecture, Collier Memorial. Boston Society of Architects Award. Jan. 2015.
Finalist, BSA Space. Mies Crown Hall America’s Prize. Jan. 2014.
2013 Merit Award, 2345 MLK. AIA Washington, DC. Jan. 2013.
American Architecture Award, Chengdu Skycourts. Chicago Athaneum. Jan. 2013.
AR+D Emerging Architects Award, Chengdu Skycourts. Architectural Review. Jan. 2013.
Winner, Honor Awards for Architecture, UNI Project. Boston Society of Architects Award. Jan. 2013.
Winner. Audi Urban Futures Award. Oct. 2012.
Annual Design Review, Chengdu Skycourts. Architect Magazine. Jan. 2012.
Most Significant Improvement to Education. MIT Irwin Sizer Award. Jan. 2012.
Winner, Chengdu Skycourts. Boston Society of Architects Award. Jan. 2012.
Nomination for Young Architects Award. National AIA. Jan. 2010.
Athena Award, Emerging Designer. Rhode Island School of Design. Jan. 2008.
Merit Award, Outside-In Loft. Residential Architect Magazine. Jan. 2008.
R+D Award. Architect Magazine. Jan. 2008.
Winner. US Artist Award in Architecture. Jan. 2008.
Design Vanguard Award. Architectural Record. Jan. 2007.
Emerging Voices. Architecture League, NYC. Jan. 2007.
Grant for Advanced Studies in the Fine Arts. Graham Foundation. Jan. 2007.
Third Prize, Net Xings. Chicago Prize. Jan. 2007.
Wade Award. Massachusetts Institute of Technology . Jan. 2007.
Winner, Honor Awards for Architecture, Low Rez/Hi Fi + Outside-In Loft. Boston Society of Architects Award. Jan. 2007.
Finalist. MoMA PS1 Young Architects Program. Jan. 2006.
Winner, Design Award. Architectural Lighting. Jan. 2006.
Recipient. Rome Prize Fellowship. Jan. 2005.
Young Architects Award. Architectural League, NYC. Jan. 2005.
Grant Recipient. NYC Department of Cultural Affairs. Jan. 2002.
Visual Arts Grant Recipient. Andy Warhol Foundation. Jan. 2002.
Recipient. Fulbright Fellowship. Jan. 1997.