Höweler + Yoon

Höweler + Yoon is a Boston based modern architecture design firm of 20+ employees with internationally recognized architecture and design studio, founded by principals Eric Höweler and Meejin Yoon.

Originally known as MY Studio, our multidisciplinary practice operates in the space between architecture, art, and landscape. We believe in an embodied experience of architecture, seeing media as material and its effects as palpable elements of architectural speculation. While our work lies at the intersection of the conceptual and the corporeal, we are committed to both the practice-of and prospects-for architecture. Engaged in projects of all scales, we are interested in the material realities and material effects of our work. From concept to construct we are determined to realize the built idea and to test projects through the dynamic interaction between the construct and the larger public.

Our work was awarded the Audi Urban Futures Award in 2012, the United States Artist Award in Architecture and Design in 2008, Architecture Record’s Design Vanguard Award in 2007, the Architecture League’s Emerging Voices Award in 2007, and the Rome Prize in Design in 2005.

Meejin and Eric are the authors of Expanded Practice: Projects by Höweler + Yoon and MY Studio (Princeton Architectural Press 2009), Public Works: Unsolicited Small Projects for the Big Dig (MAP Book Publishers 2008), and Absence, a World Trade Center Memorial artist book (Printed Matter and the Whitney Museum of Art 2003).

Our work has been exhibited at the Museum of Modern Art in New York, the Guggenheim Museum in New York, the Los Angeles Museum of Contemporary Art, the Museum of Contemporary Art in Chicago, the Smithsonian Cooper-Hewitt National Design Museum in New York, the Institut Valencia d’Art Modern in Spain, and the National Art Center in Tokyo.

J. Meejin Yoon

Meejin Yoon AIA FAAR (b. Seoul, Korea) is an architect, designer and educator. She is a Professor and Head of the Department of Architecture at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, where she received the Irwin Sizer Award for the Most Significant Improvement to MIT Education. Recently, Meejin was awarded Architectural Review's New Generation Design Leadership Award. Prior to founding Höweler + Yoon, Meejin received a Bachelor of Architecture from Cornell University with the AIA Henry Adams Medal in 1995, a Masters of Architecture in Urban Design with Distinction from Harvard University in 1997, and a Fulbright Fellowship to Korea in 1998.

Eric Höweler

Eric Höweler AIA, LEED AP (b. Cali, Colombia) is a registered architect with over 20 years of experience in practice. He received a Bachelor of Architecture and a Masters of Architecture from Cornell University. He is currently Associate Professor at the Harvard Graduate School of Design. Prior to forming Höweler + Yoon Architecture, Eric was a Senior Designer at Diller + Scofidio where he worked on the Institute of Contemporary Art in Boston and the Juilliard School/ Lincoln Center in New York. As an Associate Principal at Kohn Pedersen Fox Associates, Eric acted as the senior designer on the 118 story ICC Tower in Hong Kong.


Borislav Angelov | Intern
Emily Ashby | Intern
Jacob Bruce | jbruce@hyarchitecture.com
Kyle Coburn | Associate, AIA | kcoburn@hyarchitecture.com
Chloe Conceicao | cconceicao@hyarchitecture.com
Jonathan Fournier | Senior Associate, AIA | jfournier@hyarchitecture.com
Elle Gerdeman | Associate, AIA | egerdeman@gmail.com
Daniel Haidermota | dhaidermota@hyarchitecture.com
David Hamm | dhamm@hyarchitecture.com
Caleb Hawkins | chawkins@hyarchitecture.com
Eric Höweler | Principal, AIA | ehoweler@hyarchitecture.com
Sungwoo Jang | Senior Associate | sjang@hyarchitecture.com
Max Jarosz | mjarosz@hyarchitecture.com
Namjoo Kim | njkim@hyarchitecture.com
Neil Legband | Associate | nlegband@hyarchitecture.com
Kevin Marblestone | Intern
Sarah Martos | smartos@hyarchitecture.com
Ian Miley | Intern
Ching Ying Ngan | cyngan@hyarchitecture.com
Nancy Nichols | nnichols@hyarchitecture.com
Alexander Porter | aporter@hyarchitecture.com
Hari Priya Rangarajan | Associate | hrangarajan@hyarchitecture.com
Gillian Shaffer | gshaffer@hyarchitecture.com
Di Wang | dwang@hyarchitecture.com
Meejin Yoon | Principal, AIA | myoon@hyarchitecture.com



Winner, Small Project Award. AIA. Feb. 2018.


Progressive Architecture Awards Honorable Mention, FloatLab. Architect Magazine. Dec. 2017.
Finalist, Harleston Parker Medal, Collier Memorial. BSA. Aug. 2017.


WAN Award/Future Projects Education Award, Circus Conservatory of America. World Architecture News. Sep. 2016.
Future Projects Education Award. WAN Awards. Sep. 2016.
AAP American Architecture Prize, Collier Memorial + Shadow Play. AAP. Jun. 2016.
BSA Honor Award, Shadow Play. Boston Society of Architects. Jun. 2016.
Boston Society of Architects Women in Design Award. Boston Society of Architects. May. 2016.


New Generation Design Leadership Award. Architectural Review. Jan. 2015.
Winner, Honor Awards for Architecture, Collier Memorial. Boston Society of Architects Award. Jan. 2015.


Finalist, BSA Space. Mies Crown Hall America’s Prize. Jan. 2014.


2013 Merit Award, 2345 MLK. AIA Washington, DC. Jan. 2013.
American Architecture Award, Chengdu Skycourts. Chicago Athaneum. Jan. 2013.
AR+D Emerging Architects Award, Chengdu Skycourts. Architectural Review. Jan. 2013.
Winner, Honor Awards for Architecture, UNI Project. Boston Society of Architects Award. Jan. 2013.


Winner. Audi Urban Futures Award. Oct. 2012.
Annual Design Review, Chengdu Skycourts. Architect Magazine. Jan. 2012.
Most Significant Improvement to Education. MIT Irwin Sizer Award. Jan. 2012.
Winner, Chengdu Skycourts. Boston Society of Architects Award. Jan. 2012.


Nomination for Young Architects Award. National AIA. Jan. 2010.


Athena Award, Emerging Designer. Rhode Island School of Design. Jan. 2008.
Merit Award, Outside-In Loft. Residential Architect Magazine. Jan. 2008.
R+D Award. Architect Magazine. Jan. 2008.
Winner. US Artist Award in Architecture. Jan. 2008.


Design Vanguard Award. Architectural Record. Jan. 2007.
Emerging Voices. Architecture League, NYC. Jan. 2007.
Grant for Advanced Studies in the Fine Arts. Graham Foundation. Jan. 2007.
Third Prize, Net Xings. Chicago Prize. Jan. 2007.
Wade Award. Massachusetts Institute of Technology . Jan. 2007.
Winner, Honor Awards for Architecture, Low Rez/Hi Fi + Outside-In Loft. Boston Society of Architects Award. Jan. 2007.


Finalist. MoMA PS1 Young Architects Program. Jan. 2006.
Winner, Design Award. Architectural Lighting. Jan. 2006.


Recipient. Rome Prize Fellowship. Jan. 2005.
Young Architects Award. Architectural League, NYC. Jan. 2005.


Grant Recipient. NYC Department of Cultural Affairs. Jan. 2002.
Visual Arts Grant Recipient. Andy Warhol Foundation. Jan. 2002.


Recipient. Fulbright Fellowship. Jan. 1997.